Our God Is Merciful

“Gracious is the LORD, and righteous; our God is merciful” (Psalm 116:5).

This morning I read from Barbee and Zahl’s work The Collects of Thomas Cranmer that “the desire to pray is the gift of God.” So, in light of Psalm 116:5 I offer the following prayer:

Lord, you reveal yourself to us as “a God merciful and gracious” (Ex. 34:6). We’re thankful that’s who you are because we’re in desperate need of grace. I for one don’t want to stand before you and claim to merit your grace. Indeed, if I can merit it, it’s not grace but justice (Rom. 4:4).

Besides, you aren’t moved to come to my aid when I placard my “good” deeds before your face, but when I prostrate myself before your throne and plead for mercy.

Forgive me, Lord, for when I complain and question your character. As a fallen creature, when I’m unable to understand your ways, I sometimes do just that. But who am I to stand in judgment of you? Hear, O Lord; and in hearing, forgive. May I look to the cross and see your steadfast love for me once again.

Keep humbling me, God. And help me to savor and delight in your mercy more and more with each passing day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

