Our Savior Appeared

“You have set our iniquities before you, our secret sins in the light of your presence” (Psalm 90:8).

“Nothing is covered up that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. Therefore whatever you have said in the dark shall be heard in the light, and what you have whispered in private rooms shall be proclaimed on the housetops” (Luke 12:2-3).

The bottom line is this: You can run but you can’t hide. As Moses told the people of Israel, “Be sure your sins will find you out” (Num. 32:23). We cannot hide from God. In Psalm 90, Moses refers to “our secret sins,” those sins that we so desperately want to run from, forget about, and erase from our minds. Even those sins God knows about. Are you sensing your need for forgiveness yet? I know I am!

Once again I’m left in a position where I must cry out for a redeemer (Rom. 7:24-25). I need a Savior, for I cannot save myself. In this place only three words give me hope: “Our Savior appeared” (Titus 3:4). And wonder of all wonders “He saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy . . . so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life” (Titus 3:5, 7).

Because this is true I don’t have to run from God, I can run to him.

God knows the real you, not the Facebook version of you. What does this mean? Paul Tripp gets it right: “The cross of Jesus welcomes you to be honest because all the places where you need to be honest have been covered by the blood of Jesus.”

The gospel is this: We are more sinful and flawed in ourselves than we ever dared believe, yet at the very same time we are more loved and accepted in Jesus Christ than we ever dared hope ~ Tim Keller

Thank you, Lord, that I don’t have to hide. I can stand before you naked and unashamed. Nobody knows me better than you and nobody loves me more than you. All of this is because of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

