A Prayer to the God Who is Gloriously Sovereign over All Things

You will come up against my people Israel, like a cloud covering the land. In the latter days I will bring you against my land, that the nations may know me, when through you, O Gog, I vindicate my holiness before their eyes (Ezek. 38:16).

But you, you are to be feared! Who can stand before you when once your anger is roused? . . . Surely the wrath of man shall praise you; the remnant of wrath you will put on like a belt (Psalm 76:7, 10).

Our Great God, you are totally and completely sovereign. Nothing happens by accident (Dan. 4:34-35; Matt. 10:29); and there are no coincidences! You have all power, all authority, and you reign in victory. As I look out at this fallen world, I cannot deny the brokenness that I see: Wars and rumors of wars, broken marriages, sick bodies, and strained relationships.

Yet as I behold this fallen word through the spectacles of Scripture, as I close my eyes and open my ears, and your Word interprets my reality, I am filled with hope. Doubt, unbelief, and cynicism give way to perpetual peace and unceasing joy.

At the last Day I will see the King in his beauty (Is. 33:17). Tears of sorrow will cease to flow (Rev. 21:4), sickness will be gone (Rev. 21:4; Is. 33:24). We will enjoy our Triune God at last with unfettered joy, inhabiting the new heaven and new earth.

Maranatha!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

