A Prayer to the God who Brings Life Out of Death

Anyone who follows me on Facebook knows that I love reading and sharing the prayers that Scotty Smith writes every day. I’ve found it helpful at different seasons of my life to try to discipline myself to write out my prayers as well. This morning during my quiet time, after reading Ezekiel 36-37, I wrote the following prayer:

Lord, you give us life and breath and all things (Acts 17:25). No good thing do you withhold from us (Ps. 84:11). Family, friends, and food are just some of those blessings. I experienced this just yesterday with my faith family, Calvary Baptist Church. Indeed, I’m a few pounds heavier today because of it!

Most of all, God, I thank you that you bring life out of death (Ezek. 37:11-12). When I was dead in my sins and trespasses, you made me alive in Christ (Eph. 2:1-5), cancelling the record of debt that stood against me (Col. 2:14). Now the voice of accusation that screams at me, “You’re not good enough!” gets out-shouted by the word from your Son, “It is finished” (Jn. 19:24). Lord, plaster these words in my brain, in my heart, and in my soul. Remind me of them every day. May the incessant inner slave-driver that compels me to pursue the American idols of productivity and significance be put to death so that I may guard my time to sit at your feet (Luke 10:38-42).

May your love impel me to love others, to serve, and to be involved in the lives of others, doing the dirty work of making other peoples’ problems my own. In the life-giving name of Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

