Monday Morning Poetry

What? Am I actually writing a blog post while I’m on vacation?! Answer: YES! Let me set this one up.

I agree with Zack Hicks that we in the church need to take a break from using the word “surrender” in the Christian life. Truth be told, Christ is the One who surrendered all for us. If you’ve  been in the church for any amount of time, you’ve probably heard the old hymn “I Surrender All.” Well, Zack Hicks (worship pastor at Coral Ridge Presbyterian Church) has modified the lyrics to the song. Here’s how it turned out:

1. All, Lord Jesus, You surrendered
All to me You freely gave
All my sin You bravely shouldered
All for me, my life to save

Christ surrendered all
Christ surrendered all
All for me and my salvation
Christ surrendered all.

 

2. All, Lord Jesus, You surrendered
All your rights You left behind
Trading might for humble weakness
For the good of all mankind.

 

3. All, Lord Jesus, You surrendered
All for me, your enemy
Worldly pleasures I was seeking
Still, Lord, You were seeking me

4. All Your life is all my merit
All Your death my ransom paid
Now I feel no condemnation
Just a love that cannot fade

Words: Zac Hicks, 2014; adapted from Judson W. VanDeVenter, 1896
Music: Winfield S. Weeden, 1896
©2014 Unbudding Fig Music (ASCAP)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

