Monday Morning Poetry

For this week’s edition of MMP, I’ve selected “Will You Love Me When I’m Old?” One problem, however: When I originally found the poem, the author was said to be Henry Van Dyke, but recently I’ve seen some that say the author is Tessie Berry. Whoever the author is, it’s a good poem.

I would ask of you, my darling, A question soft and low, That gives many a heartache As the moments come and go.

Your love I know is truthful, But the truest love grows cold; It is this that I would ask you: Will you love me when I’m old?

Life’s moon will soon be waning, And its evening bells be tolled, But my heart shall know no sadness, If you’ll love me when I’m old.

Down the stream of life together We are sailing side by side, Hoping some bright day to anchor Safe beyond the surging tide.

Today our sky is cloudless, But the night may clouds unfold; But, though storms may gather round us, Will you love me when I’m old?

When my hair shall shade the snowdrift, And mine eyes shall dimmer grow, I would lean upon some loved one, Through the valley as I go.

I would claim of you a promise, Worth to me a world of gold; It is only this, my darling, That you’ll love me when I’m old.

O who will walk a mile with me Along life’s merry way? A comrade blithe and full of glee, Who dares to laugh out loud and free, And let his frolic fancy play, Like a happy child, through the flowers gay That fill the field and fringe the way Where he walks a mile with me.

And who will walk a mile with me Along life’s weary way? A friend whose heart has eyes to see The stars shine out o’er the darkening lea, And the quiet rest at the end o’ the day, — A friend who knows, and dares to say, The brave, sweet words that cheer the way Where he walks a mile with me.

With such a comrade, such a friend, I fain would walk till journey’s end, Through summer sunshine, winter rain, And then?–farewell, we shall meet again!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

