Displaying the Love of Christ in Your Marriage

Recently I’ve been reading through Rediscovering Pastoral Ministry, a book written by John MacArthur and The Master’s Seminary faculty.  One of the chapters in the book is an article entitled, “The Pastor’s Home,” written by Richard Mayhue.  Toward the end of the essay, Mayhue looks at Paul’s words in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 and gives some suggestions for how husbands and wives can apply these words in the context of their marriage.  Although directed at pastors, these suggestions should be applied by all husbands and wives.  May you resolve to live out these affirmations by the grace of God.  Here they are:

1.  “Love is patient.”  Therefore, I will bear with my spouse’s worst behavior, without retaliation, regardless of the circumstances.

2.  “Love is kind.”  Therefore, I will diligently seek ways to be actively useful in my spouse’s life.

3.  “Love is not jealous.”  Therefore, I will delight in the esteem and honor given to my spouse.

4.  “Love does not brag.”  Therefore, I will not draw attention to myself exclusive of my spouse.

5.  “Love is not arrogant.”  Therefore, I know I am not more important than my spouse.

6.  “Love does not act unbecomingly.”  Therefore, I will not engage my spouse in ungodly behavior.

7.  “Love does not seek its own.”  Therefore, I will be marriage-spouse oriented.

8.  “Love is not provoked.”  Therefore, I will not resort to anger as a solution to difficulties between myself and my spouse.

9.  “Love does not take into account a wrong suffered.”  Therefore, I will never keep an account due on my spouse.

10.  “Love does not rejoice in unrighteousness.”  Therefore, I will never delight in my spouse’s unrighteous behavior, nor will I join in its expression.

11.  “Love rejoices with the truth.”  Therefore, I will find great joy when truth prevails in my spouse’s life.

12.  “Love bears all things.”  Therefore, I will be publicly silent about my spouse’s faults.

13.  “Love believes all things.”  Therefore, I will express unshakable confidence and trust in my spouse.

14.  “Love hopes all things.”  Therefore, I will confidently expect future victory in my spouse’s life, regardless of the present imperfections.

15.  “Love endures all things.”  Therefore, I will outlast every assault of Satan to break up our marriage.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

